Jasper FFA Gold wins Soil Judging Contest



This year's Soil Judging winning team was Jasper FFA Gold coached by Andy Helming. Team members incllude: Wyatt Street, Kate Stenftenagel, Justin Street, and Alexa Hopf.

The Annual Dubois County SWCD Soil Judging Contest was held under very wet conditions this year. The contest had been postponed one week due to expected rainfall from remnants of Hurricane Irma. The newly scheduled date of the contest started out with heavy rains but the sky cleared to allow the competition to be held later in the afternoon.

This year's location was on the western edge of Dubois County, on the Dennis Whitsitt farm. Mr. Whitsitt had to drain all four of the previously dug pits before the students arrived. Eight teams with a total of 55 students arrived with their coaches to the competition site from five different counties.

The first place winning team was Jasper FFA Gold coached by Andy Helming. Second place team was Gibson County 4-H coached by Julie Loehr. Third place team was Clay City coached by Pat Powell. First place individual winner was Alexa Hopf with Jasper FFA Gold. Second Place individual was a tie between Justin Street with Jasper FFA Gold and Joseph Loehr with Gibson County 4-H. Fourth place individual was Brent Whitesell with Clay City. Fifth place individual was Caemon Doyle with Gibson 4-H.

IASWCD presents River-Friendly Farmer Award



Out of 58,000 farms in the state of Indiana, two farms in Dubois County received the statewide award of River-Friendly Farmer at the Indiana State Fair on Farmers' Day, August 16 in the 4-H Exhibit Hall.

Representation from Jochem Farm and McMurtrie Farm were among 49 farmers who received the River-Friendly Farmer award from the Indiana Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts (IASWCD) for the work they do on their land to protect Indiana's natural resources.

The Dubois County Soil and Water Conservation District nominated both Jochem Farm and McMurtrie Farm for the award based upon their farm management practices that protect Indiana's rivers, lakes, and streams.

Indiana Lieutenant Governor, Suzanne Crouch, along with Randy Kron, President of Indiana Farm Bureau; State Conservationist Jane Hardisty; IASWCD President Jamie Scott; and Meghan Grebner from Brownfield Ag News presented the awards to the winning farmers.

The River-Friendly Farmer Award has been presented by the IASWCD and sponsored by the 92 local Soil and Water Conservation Districts, and Indiana Farm Bureau, Inc. since 2000. This year's group of award winners brings the total number of River-Friendly Farmers in Indiana since the awards beginning to 912.



