Arrows recognized at football awards banquet

By Danny C. Davis

The 2019 Clinton Arrows football team was recently recognized at the annual awards banquet hosted by the Arrow Touchdown Club.

Former Arrow and parent Tywon Alexander gave the invocation.

Charles Williams, a former Arrows football player who played for CHS 1989-2020, was the banquet speaker. His three points to the Arrow players were: ability, what motivates you, and a good attitude to push yourself to be the best at everything you do in life.

The first recognition went to the Sumter Hill ninth grade Arrows, who won the Little Six Ninth Grade Championship for the third time in three years. Coaches Ethan Eubanks and Anthony Stanford presented each player with a Little Six Championship plaque.

"It was another great season for our ninth grade Arrows," said Coach Anthony Stanford. "We lost two games during the season, but the players had a lot of fight in them to come back and win the championship again."

Arrows head football coach Judd Boswell thanked the booster club for all their hard work, including announcers and parents and everyone who helps the team during the

"We had a small group of seniors this year, but they worked hard. Sometimes things did not fall our way last season," said Boswell. We are looking forward to 2020, and great days are ahead for CHS football. We are really starting to look



Special to The Clinton Courier

Pictured (I to r) are team captains Caleb Miller, Jeremy Mack, Carsson De Young, Deandrae Cavett and Chris McLaurin.



Special to The Clinton Courie

Pictured (I to r) are players who were selected to post-season honors teams, front row: Robin Gray, Michael Hughes, Jeremy Mack and Antonio Thompson; and back row: Chris Fowler, Deandrae Cavett, Taylor Dennis, Jakobe McLaurin, Levi Warren, TJ Alexander and DeShawn Leonard.



Special to The Clinton Couri

Pictured (I to r) are award winners, front row: Caleb Miller, Johnathan Griffin and Chris McLaurin; and back row: Donte Tripp, Deandrae Cavett, Adrien Dennis and Jakobe McLaurin.

like a Class 6A football program now."

Individual awards were then presented. The Coaches Award was given to Caleb Miller and Micah Gibbs. The Sportsmanship Award went to Johnathan Griffin. Jeremy Mack received the Arrow Award. Chris Fowler was named Most Improved Player, and the Roy Burkett Leadership Award was given to Donte Tripp.

2020 Team Captains Caleb Miller, Deandre Cavett, Jeremy Mack, Chris McLaurin and Carsson Deyoung were also recognized.

Players selected to the All Region Class 2-6A Team were defensive lineman Deandre Cavett and offensive lineman Jakobe McLaurin. Cavett was also selected for the 2019 All State Team. Jeremy Mack, Levi Warren, T J Alexander, Taylor Dennis, Antonio Thompson and Robin Grey were chosen as Honorable Mention Region 2 Class 2-6A Team.

Northside Baptist Church gave scholarships awards to Chris Moore, Adrien Dennis and Malik Wells; and Johanson Studios gave scholarships awards to Adrien Dennis, Micah Gibbs, Gabe Patton, Jakobe McLaurin and Jirah Jerdine.

The banquet closed as Arrow Touchdown Club President Sharon Alexander gave special recognition to the entire Arrows football coaching staff and personally recognized the many Arrow booster club members and the many others who gave support to the Arrows football team all season long.

