## **Honor's Day held at Holmes Community College**



LAKESIA SMITH, MACI HARRIS AND ADDISON RAY.

achievements and honors

The Holmes Community and Honors Program on the technical program presented College Goodman Cam- Goodman Campus on April pus recognized its student's 13 in McDaniel Auditorium. Representatives from

awards to students who have shown excellence in their given major, program or exduring the 2021 Awards each academic and career- tracurricular activity. Other

## State Treasury launches Statewide Scholarship Giveaway, asks Mississippians to watch their mailboxes

\$7,500 in scholarship money up for grabs



**News Release** 

JACKSON, Miss. - State Savings account through the counts with \$500 in scholar-

State Treasury. "Tuition prices are rising Treasurer David McRae to- and families are looking for day launched a statewide help," said McRae. "Misscholarship giveaway ahead sissippi 529 college savings of National 529 Day (May plans offer the opportunity 29). The Treasurer advises to financially prepare in a Mississippians to keep an fiscally responsible way. the giveaway postcards, hardest part about the plans which will begin arriving is getting started! That's why on Friday. Fifteen families we're giving 15 lucky Miswill win a combined total sissippi families the opporof \$7,500. The scholarships tunity to win an account this will be given via a Missis- month. What's more, we'll sippi Affordable College be filling those winning ac-

ship money." Mississippians should keep an eye on their mailboxes for the scholarship giveaway postcards. If they scratch off a winning ticket, they will receive a \$500 scholarship in the form of a eye on their mailboxes for Like most things in life, the Mississippi Affordable College Savings (MACS) account. Those who don't win are still invited to open an account on their own, which can be done for as little as a \$25 deposit. For full contest rules, visit Treasury.MS.gov/ ScholarshipSweepstakes.

IN AND AROUND <u>LEXINGTON</u> BY LEONA (LENA) FIELDS



Cassie Wright, not Carrie. taken. About the church doors,

I have some corrections ple need to be asked to ento make on last weeks col- ter the main sanctuary door umn. My new neighbor is so their temperature can be

I do not have any news for reading this column. it should have read side this week. I went home to doors not site doors. Peo- Coffeeville, Mississippi to column, call 662-834-1489.

help take care of some name changes on the household bills, therefore, I did not get any news. I am sorry; I know some of you look forward to reading "In And Around Lexington." I thank you for

To get your news in this

special awards were giving, as well in various categories.

Awards presentation started off by Vice President of the Goodman Campus Andy Wood recognizing the 2021 Hall of Fame recipients. Hall of Fame is the highest honor a student can received and recipients were voted on by faculty and staff based on academic achievement, campus involvement and community service. The 2021 Hall of Fame recipients were Delancy Anderson, Jon Parker Jones, Noah Burton and Jenson Williams.

The Holmes Plus Awards went to Jon Parker Jones, Isaac Moore, Payton Rehm, Tracie Scroggins and Randa Williams.

The Phi Theta Kappa All-MS Academic Team was awarded to Jon Parker Jones and Petyon Killebrew. Jones was also recognized as the recipient of the Phi Theta Kappa –Order of the Gold Key.

Then the presentation of awards was done by the Goodman faculty, staff and administration from their respective categories. The Wesley David Rule Mathematics Award was awarded to Ivan Ballesteros Garcia of Kosciusko, the Music Major Award was awarded to Thomas Barnes of Richland, Collision Repair Technology Award to Kameron Blakely of Kosciusko, the Percussion Groups Award was awarded Noah Burrell of Sallis and the Deans and Directors Award was awarded to Geannie Burton of Weir and Adam Harloas of Kosciusko.

The Social and Behavioral Science Award was awarded to Emily Ford of Kosciusko, the Practical Nursing Award was awarded to Morgan GarKlauk Award.

Award was given to Peyton the ceremony were given by Killebrew of Sallis, the Band Wendy Grace, Coordinator Award went to Milton May- of Academic Programs on field of Kosciusko, the Weld- the Goodman Campus. Foling Award went to Heath Mc- lowing the ceremony there Bride of Kosciusko and the was a cookie social in the Christine Herron Academic lobby of McDaniel Audito-Achievement Award was rium where the recipients given to Kaneesha Moore were given custom-made of Kosciusko. Justin Nunn cookies made by Magnolia of Sallis received the In- Sweet, a Holmes alumnusdustrial Technology Award, owned business. Micah O'Guin of Vancleave received the W. Y. Sudduth History and Political Science Award and Patricia Orduna of Kosciusko received the Business Administration

Khiayah Perryman of Madison was honored with the Architectural Engineering Award, Justin Porter of Benton received the Creative Writing Award and the Heating and Air Conditioning Technology Award was awarded to Ricky Purvis of Yazoo City. The Overall Engineering Technology Award went to Addison Ray of Lexington, the Biological Science Award went to Jasmine Rogers of Houston and the Business Office Technology Award was awarded to Kelli Sanders of Benton.

Octavia Smith of McCar-

rett of Kilmichael, the Liter- ley received the Cosmetolature Award was awarded to ogy Award, Lakesia Smith Camillia Goodloe of Canton of Goodman received the and the Bill Watkins Visual Growl Award, Alan Weeks of Arts Award was awarded Ackerman got the Automoto Maci Harris of Cruger. tive Technology Award and Wesley Harris of Benton the Health, Physical Educareceived the Choral Music tion, and Recreation Depart-Award, Timothy Hutchinson ment Award was awarded to of Kosciusko received the Cameron Wells of Madison. Dr. Marilyn Burrell Memo- The Elementary Education rial Award and the Engineer- Award was presented to Jening Award went to Jon Park- son Williams of Benton and er Jones of Kosciusko. Jones the English Composition also received the Michael Award to Asa Williams of Wilmette, Illinois.

The Physical Science The closing remarks of



Lily Fran McCrory Rosario Guastella May 22

Riley Angell Aaron Goldman August 1



Court Square 834-2721 Lexington

## **Mississippi Action for Progress** Head Start/Early Head Start Central District





Lexington Library Lexington, MS May 22, 2021 12:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.

## **Register Today!**

Applications will be taken on-site



Holmes County Community Recruitment Fair

**Mark Your Calendar!** 

Lots of Fun, Games and **Information** 

**Meet the Staff** 

**On-site Vendors** 

Free Food and **Giveaways** 

**Hope To See You There!**