AGE 6 HOLMES COUNTY HERALD - THURSDAY, JANUARY 13, 2022

2021 Sports Highlights

2021 STATE TRACK CHAMPIONS



The members of the 2021 State Championship Track Team from Central Holmes Christian School include: (left to right) Allie McBride, Daynie Parish, Hattie Melton, Ashlyn Tate, Aubrey Carr, Hayley Haffey, Breann Bell, Cameron Martin, Mackenzie Ward, Denson Edwards, Claire Tate, Olivia McBride and Coach Nikki Edwards. (Not pictured are Addie Burrell and J.J. Brown.) (Photo submitted.)

Lady Jaguars 2021 MHSAA Girls State Basketball Runners-up



The Holmes County Central High School Lady Jaguars advance to final four of the 2021 MHSAA Girls Basketball Championships. The Lady Jaguars (14-5) played on Tuesday, March 2 (game was played after press time) against the Brookhaven Panthers (9-5) at the Mississippi Coliseum in Jackson. Tip-off was at 5:30 p.m. The Lady Jaguars, class 5A, defeated the Columbus Falcons in a play-off match, 53-45, on Friday, February 26. Pictured above are (seated from left): Dekyra Mitchell, Ryanna Meeks, Shanbriah Rule, Shakendalah Jones and Carleigh Andrews; Pictured standing (from left): Head Coach Luana Greer, team manager Jeremiah Williams, Coach Retha Greer, Elyshiah Huntley, Brianna Jordan, Jarie Brice, Kelsi Andrews, team manager Chadarin Pilgrim, Coach Carmesha Nalls and Aja Williams. Not pictured,

2021 Varsity Trojan Football Team State Top 4



The Central Holmes Christian School Varsity Football team pictured above are: front row: (seniors) Barrett Fondren, Jurdan Engle, Ellis Harris, Eric Jones, Noah Steen; second row: (juniors) Mike Jones, Gibson Parish, Sean Harrell, Eli Carr, Grayson Marshall, Aiden Adcock, John Riley; third row: (sophomores) Mason Wiysel, John Ward, Lamarion Buchanon, Cayton Edwards, Hudson Haffey, Ashton Tate, Lane Womack, John Hudson Word; fourth row: (freshmen) Collin McGee, Logan Engle, Bryan Gallagher, Josh Robinson, Carson Burrell, Kade Ward; and back row: (coaches) Caleb Joiner, Greg Watkins, Justin Harrell, Mitch Womack (head coach), Leslie Burden.

2021 4A Cross Country State Champions



The Central Holmes Christian School Cross Country Championship Team pictured above are: Coach Nikki Edwards, Emma Word, Joshilyn Land, Lydia Killebrew, Sara Drennan Word, Addie Hill, Allie McBride, Ashlyn Tate, Ally Kyzar, Paicey Ingram, Heidi Hudson, Hattie Melton, and Daynie Parish.

Jaguars 2021 MHSAA State Basketball Champions



The Holmes County Central High School boys' basketball team won the MHSAA 5-A state championship Friday, March 5 at the Mississippi State Coliseum in Jackson. The team was led by MVP Amarion Hoggan's 17 points, seven rebounds and six assists. Quashon Rowe, Louzavious Thomas, and Malik Crigler all had 12 points each. Amarion Hoggan was also named Scholar Athlete. Holmes County beat Lake Cammorant, 64-58. Pictured above, from left to right are: Coach Antwayn Patrick, Jayvion Saffold, Eddie Williams, William Washington, Corey Ellington, Janari Powell, Derick Bush, Malik Crigler, Amarion Hoggan, Corbin Campbell, Rickey Fletcher, Louzavious Thomas, Jeremiah Proctor, Quashon Rowe, Dillion Jennings, Ricarvis Waters, Head Coach Deangelo Priar, Marcus Rogers, Tarvis Jackson, Tarvis Jackson, Jr. (Photo Submitted.)

HCCHS 2021 Jaguar Football Team and Cheerleaders



Holmes County Central High School 2021 Jaguars football team won its homecoming game against the Jim Hill Tigers, 44-7. Pictured above are: front row, left to right: Tishawnah Rule, Curaya Washington, Khamauri Rogers, Dandreyus Giles, Kenyatta Meeks, Jerell Boyd, Ja'Landyn Humphrey, Ricky Fletcher, Head Coach Marcus Rogers, Octavious Pernell, Adrian Moore, Joseph Head, Louzavious Thomas, Kasey Potee, Ja'Lissa Anderson; second row (l-r): Breanna Washington, Mariah Lewis, Kaleb Washington, Cortez Thomas, Trequan Hodges, Tyler Haynes, Kenan Palmer, Trayveon Horton, Kendarious Brown, Clevaris Dixon, Derrick Smith, Janari Powell, Alfred Thompkins, Antravian Pernell, Jeremiah Veal, Kevin Kirklin, Elijah Trotter, Kayla Forrest, Rihana Moore; third row (l-r): Rayniya Pate, Jakira Landfair, Shidarius Jefferson, Malachi Williams, Daniel Trotter, Jarvis Whiteside, Rashado Wright, Ekeelum Grant, Tacorey Young, Mario Williams, Nathan Lewis, Christian Pope, Taylen Fitzpatrick, Benjamin Lewis, Omari Edwards, Jamiah Williams, December Parks; fourth row (l-r): Omani Ollie, Lewis Washington, Troy Burns, Martavious Johnson, Shevy Jefferson, Rashard Travis, Artavian Terry, Dequarious White, Camrin Wilson, Jaiden Clark, Montrell Boyd, Marlique Fleming, Cordarren Woodson, Christopher Rogers, Nakiya Travis, Geterria Mitchell; back row (l-r): Marissa Butler (Cheerleading Coach), Avery Washington (Cheer Trainer), Jeffrey Parker (Athletic Trainer), Malik Dear (Assistant Coach), Logan Rule, Conja Rule (Assistant Coach), D.L. Canada (Assistant Coach), John Perry (Assistant Coach), Kelcey Winters (Assistant Coach), Alan Washington (Assistant Coach), Darius Brown (Assistant Coach), Robert Hogan (Assistant Coach), Aisha Saffold (Assistant Cheer Coach), Chris Williams (Manager), Trevan Ambrose (Manager), and Hunter Williams (Manager). Not pictured are: Key idric Dixon, Nadarius Vance and Terrance Hibbler. Photo by Artaviyas